Titanic
This is the Powerpoint presentation that is being shown on the streaming multimedia (video) screen at the front of the library.
Comments (0)
Websites
Titanic
- encyclopedia titanica
- Online Titanic Museum
- Titanic Photo Archive
- Passenger List of the Titanic
- Titanic Memorial Site
- Titanic Historical Society
- RMS Titanic Home
- PBS: Lost Liners: Britannic
- PBS: Lost Liners: Titanic
- Harland and Wolff
- Titanic's Final Resting Place
- Titanic-Titanic.com
- Encyclopedia Britannica Titanic page
- Did the Titanic Sink Because of an Optical Illusion?
- Historical Documents of the Titanic
- Encyclopedia Titanica the foremost repository of facts, opinion and media relating to RMS Titanic. Featuring Titanic survivor stories, comprehensive Titanic passenger list and biographies, detailed Titanic research articles, in depth discussions and rich media including Titanic pictures, archive recordings and the Titanic movie player.
- The Online Titanic Museum is dedicated to preserving the memory of the Titanic; her twin sisters Olympic and Britannic and the White Star Line - the shipping line that owned and operated the three "Olympic Class" steamers. This website is a virtual display of our private collection of authentic Titanic artifacts and related memorabilia from every stage of her short life - everything from pre-sinking souveniers taken off the ship, items ejected from the ship as she broke apart during her final moments, to post-sinking memorial memorabilia.
- This is a page from MaritimeQuest, a website that contains the photographic history of the worlds ships. A quest to bring to the forefront little known tales of the sea. A quest to uncover the history behind the worlds greatest ships.
- Welcome! The Titanic Historical Society, Inc. (THS), established in 1963, is the premier source for Titanic and White Star Line information. THS is the original and largest Titanic society in the world. Nearing the half-century mark, our mission of preserving the great ship’s history can be seen in our outstanding publications, Titanic Museum and annual themed events.
- RMS Titanic, Inc, a subsidiary of Premier Exhibitions, Inc. serves as the exclusive steward of RMS Titanic which tragically sank on April 15, 1912. The Company is dedicated to preserving the legacy of the Ship, wreck site and all her passengers and crew through educational , historical, scientific and conservation based programs.
- Welcome to Harland and Wolff Heavy Industries Limited. Building on 150 years of marine manufacturing experience, Harland and Wolff offers a unique combination of vast facilities and technical capability. From initial consultancy through detailed engineering, fabrication and through-life support, Harland and Wolff is perfectly positioned to support the needs of the maritime, offshore and renewable energy sectors
- This is a site of links to Titanic sites on the Internet
- Titanic-Titanic.com is one of the largest Titanic information resources on the Internet, and continues to grow in both size and content. It contains Titanic news, Titanic books, DVDs, articles on the Titanic, Titanic giftshops in the UK and the United States, a listing and biographies on all of the passengers of the Titanic, chat with Titanic enthusiatists, and more.
Government Websites
- The Titanic Wrecksite
- NOAA Titanic Expedition 2004: Breathtaking Wreck Footage
- NOAA commemorates the 100th birthday of RMS Titanic
- R.M.S. TITANIC DOCUMENTS AND REFERENCES
- The Sun-Climate Connection (Did Sunspots Sink the Titanic?)
- Life Aboard the Titanic: Who travelled on the fateful maiden voyage?: The British National Archives
- This website was created by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Titanic Exhibitions, memorials, and Centennial obesrvations

Titanic Exhibits
- Titanic Exhibitions
- Titanic Branson
- Titanic Pigeon Forge Tennessee
- Titanic: The Artifact Exhibition:The Henry Ford Museum
- This site lists places where Titanic exhibits are located in the United States.
- Receive a Boarding Pass of an actual Titanic passenger/crew member View $4.5 million + of Titanic artifacts Walk the $1 Million exact replica of Titanic's Grand Staircase Touch an iceberg and feel 28-degree water Shovel "coal" in Titanic's Boiler Room Learn how to send an SOS distress signal Experience the Sloping Decks of the ship's stern as she descended Sit in an actual size lifeboat and hear true passenger stories Discover your passenger's fate in the Titanic Memorial Room
- This Exhibition, 10,000 square feet in size, features more than 300 artifacts – 250 of which have never been displayed in Michigan. In addition, visitors will walk through extensive room re-creations, be able to get their photos taken near the full-scale replica of the Grand Staircase, as well as learn about passengers on board who had local ties to Michigan. Moving through this newly redesigned and expanded Exhibition, visitors will be taken back in time to 1912 and “travel” through the life of the Titanic — from the ship’s construction, to its on-board passengers, its ill-fated voyage, to the amazing artifact rescue efforts that involved divers returning to the sunken ship in recent years.
Titanic Memorials
- Women's Titanic Memorial
- The Washington, DC area is home to several monuments and memorials to the victims of the Titanic disaster. Of these, the Women’s Titanic Memorial, now located at the foot of P Street, SW in Washington Channel Park, is probably the best known. Funds for the memorial were raised largely through individual one dollar donations from more than 25,000 women of America to honor those men who had lost their lives in the sinking. Although authorized by Congress in 1917 and completed in 1918, the monument was not erected until 1930, due to protracted delays in developing the preferred site in Rock Creek Park.

- The Titanic Memorial located on the Southwest Waterfront in Washington, D.C. The memorial is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Picture taken by AgnosticPreachersKid on 21 August 2008.
- Widener Library, Harvard University
- Memorial to the Engine Room Heroes of the Titanic
- Titanic Memorials
- Titanic Memorial, New York City
- Titanic: The Unsinkable Ship and Halifax
- The Widener Library was built from a gift from Eleanor Widener, to honor her son, Harry, who was a Titainc passenger who did not survive.
- The memorial was originally intended to be for the thirty two engineers who stayed at their posts on the tragic night of 15th April 1912 when the Titanic (built in Belfast for the Liverpool based White Star Line) sank. However, World War I broke out before its completion, and despite some objections, its dedication was broadened to include all maritime engine room fatalities incurred during the performance of duty.
- On April 15, 1913, one year after the sinking of the Titanic, the Titanic Memorial Lighthouse and Time Ball, mounted atop the Seamen’s Church Institute, were dedicated to honor the passengers, officers, and crew who perished in the sinking.
- Today, the city of Halifax and the Province of Nova Scotia retain many reminders of the way in which the tragedy of the Titanic touched the lives of those who lived here. From the gravestones of victims, to memorial monuments; preserved fragments of the vessel, to original photographs and documents; stories passed down through generations, to new insights and discoveries; Nova Scotians have remained respectful keepers of the vessel’s memory. To mark the Centennial Anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic, commemorative events across the province have been planned. Details can be found at Tourism Nova Scotia and Destination Halifax.
Videos
Videos
These videos have been found on YouTube
- Titanic Footage & Survivors Interviews
- "Titanic News Reel 1912"
- Titanic 1912 Newsreel (original)
- Titanic's Last Survivor Dies
- Titanic Discovery -September 1985
- Inside The Titanic (Cabins and Hallways)
- Return to the Titanic (2005) National Geographic Channel
- Titanic Then and Now
- Building the Titanic
- RMS Titanic Survivors True Accounts of The Sinking
- Titanic: Death of a Dream
- Titanic: The Final Word with James Cameron
- Save the Titanic with Robert Ballard
- Save the Titanic with Robert Ballard
- Titanic at 100: Mystery Solved
- Saving the Titanic: PBS
- The Cobert Report--Robert Ballard
- Atlantic (1929)
- Titanic footage and survivors interviews. On 14 April 1912, on her maiden voyage, the passenger liner RMS Titanic hit an iceberg. More than 1500 men, women and children perished. This is a short television documentary about the sinking of the Titanic, including interviews with survivors talking about their experiences and their escape.
- THIS IS NOT REAL FOOTAGE FROM 1912. Crew members of James Cameron's Titanic (1997) made this fun little silent back in 1995-96 amidst production of the blockbuster hit. Can be accessed on the Titanic Special Edition DVD.
- Here is one of the original theatre newsreels that was shown to the eager public following the Titanic disaster. Although this footage is labelled up and presented to show the Titanic, the footage vessel shown is Titanic's older sister Olympic and filmed in New York during the summer of 1911. Captain Captain Edward John Smith is seen wearing the White Star Lines summer uniform. We see views of life onboard the vessel prior to and departing from the New York return voyage. Captain Smith is seen on the bridge and Starboard bridge wings, watching the activity on the dockside and forward well-deck below him. We see passengers walking the A-Deck promanade and aft decks of Boat Deck, A Deck and B Deck. We also see views across the Poop Deck that show some of the ships telegraphs and phones on the stern docking bridge. We also get a chance to view the Boat Deck with lifeboats in position, looking from aft towards the bow. The footage then cuts to scenes of the rescue ship Carpathia, onboard the liner as crew of the small Cunarder play around for the camera man. Her Captain, Auther Rostron is seen along with young members of the crew passing information to dockside press. In all, this is a sad but historic reminder of not only the early reactions to the Titanic disaster, but also a reminder to the early days of cinamaphotography.
- Jun 1 - Millvina Dean, the last survivor of the Titanic, died on Sunday (May 31) at the age of 97, the Press Association reports Dean was only 9 weeks old when her family travelled on Titanic in hopes of beginning a new life in the United States. Her father was one of the 1,517 casualties after the supposedly unsinkable ship hit an iceberg in the Atlantic. She died in the early hours of Sunday after being cared for at a nursing home in Southampton, from where the Titanic began its fateful maiden voyage. In an interview televised less than a year before her death, Dean said she "must be rather an odd person" because she didn't think anything of having lived through such a famous event.
- Old news clip the day after the Titanic was first discovered in 1985. They still hadn't ascertained the condition of the wreck.
- Robert Ballard returns to Titanic 20 years after her discovery.
- This has videos and pictures of the Titanic before and after it sank.
- Five survivors from the Titanic the world's most famous sea disaster give their accounts of the tragedy.
- Perhaps the best Titanic documentary of all time. Titanic: Death of a Dream explores Titanic's story from the day her keel was laid to the night she disappeared beneath the waves of the North Atlantic. Includes interviews with survivors and the foremost Titanic historians.
- The first "talkie" Titanic film. Produced by E.A. Dupont and based on the stage play "The Berg". Later renamed "Titanic: Disaster in The Atlantic.
Titanic Disaster

On April 15, 1912, the great ocean liner TITANIC struck a glancing blow on an iceberg and sank in less than 3 hours with a large loss of life. The sinking continues to generate popular interest, and numerous books, movies and songs have been written about the Titanic disaster. April 15, 2012 marks the 100th anniversary of this disaster.

The New York Times front page for April 16, 1912 headlines the grim news about the Titanic disaster.
Pictures
The Titanic arrived at Southampton in time to catch the midnight tide on April 3, 1912, and tied up at berth 44, where she would remain for the next week, flying flags to celebrate Easter and the people of the town, even though belowdecks the crew was struggling to extinguish a fire in one of No. 6 boiler room's bunkers that raged for her entire stay at the port.
Belfast, Ireland, 6 March 1912: Titanic (right) moved out of the drydock to allow her sister Olympic to replace a damaged propeller blade. Source: Olympic Class Ocean Liner
Near Collision
Titanic underway after the near-collision with SS City of New York. On the left can be seen Oceanic and New York. Source: Titanic
Titanic leaving Belfast
Online Books about the Titanic
Many of the Books listed below were written by survivors of the Titanic disaster
- The Truth about the Titanic
- Sinking of the "Titanic," most appalling ocean horror (1912)
- The Loss of the S.S. Titanic: Its Story and its Lessons
- In memorandum: The Titanic disaster
- The Titanic Inquiry Project
- Titanic Disaster: Hearing before a subcommittee of the Committee on commerce, United States Senate ... pursuant to S. res. 283, directing the Committee on commerce to investigate the causes leading to the wreck of the White star liner "Titanic."
- This book was written in 1912 by Archibald Gracie, first class passenger on the Titanic.
- This book was written by Lawrence Beesley, a second class passenger aboard the Titanic.
- A collection of poems about the Titanic disaster
- A small and selfless group of serious Titanic researchers has recently gone to the incredible effort of transcribing the entire texts of the Senate and the British Titanic Inquiries -- each of which is over a thousand pages long -- and has graciously seen fit to post those transcripts on this website for the benefit of Titanic buffs everywhere. These researchers have reaped no financial reward for their self-imposed efforts and have undertaken this project solely in the interest of making hard-to-find historical information available to everyone who might wish to see it.
Library of Congress
Library of Congress
- Library of Congress
- Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
- The Titanic Disaster (Memory): American Treasures of the Library of Congress
- Researching the Wreck of the RMS Titanic
- The Titanic: Shifting Responses to Its Sinking
- Titanic: Newspaper Accounts from Chronicling America
- The Building of the Titanic: Newspaper Accounts from Chronicling America
- This site has a digital version of the front page of the New York Herald for April 15, 1912
- This page builds on an article describing Library of Congress holdings concerning the Titanic, which can be found in the May 1998 issue of the Library of Congress Information Bulletin. Many of the items described in this article are now available online.
- In 1912, popular media headlined the sinking of the world’s largest luxury passenger ocean liner while on its maiden voyage. Newspapers captivated the world’s attention with stories from survivors and about victims who did not survive. This is a lesson in recognizing bias in newspapers. Students will examine responses to the disaster and evaluate bias and different ways information is presented, and then apply what they learn to interpreting a political cartoon about the sinking of the Titanic.

Loading...
